Can I Eat Happiness?

fruit-933674_1280.jpg

No, I don’t mean chocolate!

On Sunday my boyfriend and I talked about how bored we were. It was a day to forget. Why do I write about this day then? Because of something my boyfriend said.

He started playing one of his favorite video games and he was happy.

And I? I was still in a bad mood. There was nothing that could lift my spirit. There was nothing to watch on TV, I already finished my book, I didn’t want to work out because I just ate lunch, the weather was too bad to leave the house, everything was uninteresting.

And then he said that I seem to lack in happiness hormones. Maybe he is right. Maybe my brain produces not enough happiness hormones. I don’t want to say that I’m miserable but most of the time my mood is somewhat indifferent. I can’t excite myself for anything. It’s so difficult to get out of this mood.

I looked up what you could do to boost your happiness hormones and besides sport, cuddling and sunlight, food is also important. For example, you could avoid coffee and diary products. There are foods which promote the production of happiness hormones like

  • spinach
  • nuts
  • legumes
  • avocado
  • fish
  • egg
  • parmesan
  • oat flakes
  • bananas
  • seeds (sesame, quinoa, sunflower)
  • etc.

I certainly don’t eat these foods often enough and I don’t know if smaller quantaties would even make a difference. Of course, there is much science behind it and I’m surely not an expert. But maybe it’s a good sign that I address the problem and look for solutions.

Now please excuse me, I need to exercise and eat a banana 😉

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Can I Eat Happiness?

  1. sometimes you are allowed to feel grumpy and bad without having any reason. there are many colours, grey included. I don’t feel happy, so what? feelings and emotions don’t last forever, they will pass, don’t give them too much attention. that helps me, whenever depression is waving. it will pass, maybe soon. until then: just go on breathing. and if you like eat a banana 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’re right but sometimes a little help won’t hurt even if it’s just a placebo effect. But I really heard that the brain can produce not enough happiness hormones which lead to the depression etc. It is all biochemistry after all.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Interesting. My husband and me sometimes have the same conversation. I then wonder other couples seem to always have something to do, something fun. We always seem to do the same things like going for a walk in the city, watch a movie (we don’t have television so it’s either at the cinemas or on our computers), going out for dinner, watch the news, going to the supermarket or roleplaying with some friends. We should make a bucketlist, as to what else we could do. One thing we did though was very fun to do. We read a book together. It was “Harry Potter und das verwunschenen Kind”. Since it is a screenplay of the theater play, with different characters, each of us could really get into impersonating each of them. We read 5 pages each evening in the beginning, but soon read even more because the book was so exciting.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The activities of your husband and you sound interesting to me! Not just “other couples” do fun things but you two too. We are more of home buddies but we like it that way. Usually I am fine with it but if I have no uni work to occupy me a couple hours a day, I am bored out of my mind. You are right, I should try out more new things (at home 😉)!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Doing something fun for yourself is a totally different thing. Try to try something new every now and then. I am trying painting and drawing and journaling at the moment. Feeling down can get you. But maybe you can prepare by doing something you enjoy like listening to music etc. Before that feeling Hits you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

