5 Cultural Differences between China and Germany

tea-1283900_1280

[Hold your horses! I don’t want offend anybody! I state my perceptions and experiences! I just know a few Chinese people personally, so my remarks are not representative!]

Here are 5 cultural differences that I witnessed being with a Chinese man for almost four years. Maybe I will write another version of this article focusing on differences in relationships.

1. Sense of Community

palace-347296_1280

I noticed that many Chinese people are rather egoistic when it comes to the environment or empathy.

My best friend recently went on vacation to Vietnam and she said that the worst tourist were the Chinese people. They were throwing trash on the ground, were loud and rude, left a mess wherever they go and were fighting their way to the front of an attraction by bumping everyone else. I’m 100% sure that not everybody behaves like that and you should judge a whole nation by a few exceptions. But are these really exceptions? People should look out for each other and the nature!

I also heard from my boyfriend that when you see a person on the street who needs help (they fell down, hurt their leg etc.) you shouldn’t help them. It often happens that the helper gets wrongfully sued for causing the damage and has to pay compensation. It is also common to run into cars at traffic lights and demand compensation. To be safe, people rather don’t help each other. Recently we saw an eldery women tripping. She fell on her face and bled from her head and nose. My boyfriend didn’t react at first but I was the first one to help the lady.

2. Food

chinese-1023600_1280.jpg

Ok, I have to admit that food is probably the most important aspect. We HAVE to eat every day, so food has a huge potential for differences. The biggest difference is probably breakfast. Chinese breakfast more or less equals Chinese dinner. My boyfriend eats toast for breakfast since he lives in Germany (he is too lazy to cook proper Chinese breakfast) but he actually hates toast and all sorts of bread. WHAAAT?! Bread is life! Well, for him rice is life…

Another difference I have noticed is the meat he cooks. Now, I don’t know if it’s just my boyfriends preference but he just eats “unconventional” parts of the animal. Leg, neck etc. Why not a filet? He enjoys knibbling on the bones and detach the smallest bits of meat from the bone. No, thank you.

By the way, I’ve been “Chinese-ified”. I know how to use a ricecooker – with just Chinese description and buttons. And yes, it is possible to mess up rice.

3. Luxury

diamond-1839031_1280

The first luxury item I ever received was by my future mother-in-law. She was visting my boyfriend and brought so many expensive presents for my family and me. It was totally not necessary! The second luxury item I received was a birthday present from my boyfriends’ Chinese friends. I don’t even know the names of these friends! (Sorry, but I’m very bad at remembering names and Chinese names are definitely on another level…) I find luxury items totally unnecessary (maybe that will change when I get older) but it seems to be common courtesy the make expensive gifts. Maybe you are seen as cheap if you don’t make any effort?

But the contradicting thing is that I never met someone who can save so much money like my boyfriend. Deals and discounts seem to be the greatest thing in the world! Everybody loves discounts but Chinese people bring that to another level!

4. Travelling

pool-690034_1280

I’m 100% sure that I will never be able to go on a one week vacation to an all-inclusive resort somewhere at the beach. Staying too long at one place is a no go! You have to see as much as possible in minimum time and minimum cost! We planned our spring break and I got him down to 3 cities in 8 days…

5. Friends

friends-1283173_1280

My boyfriend has sooo many friends in China and Germany. I don’t even know that many people (ok, the introverted me is not really a great example…). He is in a WeChat (Chinese WhatsApp) group from his High School with 200 other classmates. I’m in contact with 5 people from school. He is in a WeChat group with 300 Chinese people living in Germany. Like I said, I don’t know that many people.

An the crazy thing is, they manage to regulary hang out! Well, not all 300 people at once! It seems to very important for Chinese people to know many people, have many friends and be in company with many people. I acutally prefer to have 5 good friends instead of 100 “friends”.
I personally also enjoy hanging out with less people at once. A cozy atmosphere with good conversations. Chinese get-togethers seem to follow other rules. The more the bettter. The louder the funnier. And food is a must! (Hot Pot and BBQ are preferred!)

What are experiences? Do you agree with some aspects?

If you want to read more about or binational relationship, I already wrote Reality of an International / Binational Relationship, Guilty Conscience in an International Relationship and 5 Tips on Moving in with your Partner.

See you soon!

pictures are from pixabay.com

18 thoughts on “5 Cultural Differences between China and Germany

  1. Mostly true. Sad rumor: I heard that the Chinese rudeness in public is caused by so called cultural revolution, when people could be sent to jail or got killed when they show politeness which was supposed to be upper class behaviour. I quite believe in that since I visited Taipeh and saw a mass of very polite, clean and respectful Chinese.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Those Chinese I know suspect all other Chinese to be thieves. When my grandfather, from the far north, went to Germany in the 1930es, he had to travel via Shanghai. So he attended kind of teaching in his hometown how to cope with people from southern China. There they told him basicly, don’t talk to anybody and keep your hands on your wallet. Because southern people are much more witty than you and will betray you at any opportunity. Sometimes I think, they all dream of living in an ancient farm house with a wall around it, where they can close the gate and be save with just their family and the closest 200 friends or so.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Very interesting to get to know the differences. I think there are many kultural differences…i also see many…for i was born in south africa and only live in germany for half my life…14 years. I still have problems with some typical german stuff 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was really interesting! I understand the first point, as there were several times when I was in Sydney, where some Chinese tourists are not very respectful. Definitely not all Chinese people are like that (I mean there’s over 1 billion chinese people in the world!), but I felt the Chinese tourists that I saw in Sydney were really loud, take up most of the footpath without caring if anyones trying to get past and tend to spit on the ground without second thought. But one of the worse things I ever saw, was when a Aussie couple were getting their wedding photos, and nearly all the women ran to the wedding car to take photos and lean against the car with their selfie sticks.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sehr interessant, schön geschrieben 👍 Kleine Frage: Ist das Bild mit den Sake-Fässen aus China? Genau die gleichen Fässer stehen auch im Yoyogi Park in Tokyo. Ich bin da häufiger, darum ist es mir sofort aufgefallen 🐨 Liebe Grüße aus Japan 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  5. :-)….
    used to live in china for two years, married with a chinese guy since 9 years, so I can confirm the point 1, 2 and 3 (even if I wouldn`t talk about the first point in public 🙂 ).
    regarding the travelling thing my husband is different… we travel a lot and we both like it to see different things… all inclisive is too expensive *g*
    friends…. friends are very important… but for a chinese guy only the family matters…. wouldn`t compare the friend-things with the german point of view…
    your BF prefers rice? is comming from the south, innit?… my one prefers noodles…. north (actual from the center, but in china there is no “center”… and my one even cooks soup or somthing like this in the morning…. Brötchen, immer nur, wenn ich sie schmiere *g*

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: March Recap | 2017 | life as julia

Leave a Reply

