Everyone makes Mistakes

mistake-1966460_1280

I already told you about my intense week of correcting exams from bachelor students in my February Recap. What I haven’t told you about yet is one incident that truly upset me but made me also really proud of myself.

A little background information about how we correct exams:
When correcting the exams, I count the sum of points in mind (maximum were 110 points, so no big deal). When I finish correcting all exams, the points for each tasks are typed into an excel sheet where the sum of the points is calculated again and then the grades can be transfered to the system.

I did this procedure for about 200 exams and I thought I would have made some mistakes when calculating the sum of the points. It’s tiring and tedious work after all. (No problem though! Excel unravels all calculation mistakes! Everyone gets the correct amount of points!)

In the end, excel proved that I miscalculated ONE exam in my mind! ONE OUT OF 200! I was missing 10 points.

My colleague, who was working on other exams and did far more mistakes than I, saw that I did this mistake and teased me with this mistake for ever and told other colleages about it! He messed up far more exams than I did!

I corrected 199 exams perfectly fine but he just notices and remembers this one mistake! For me, it wasn’t a big deal at all. I was proud of me for the 199 correct exams.

I guess it’s true that just your mistakes are remembered but all the good things you do are not worth noticing.

I am proud of myself for not letting this colleague ruin my experience. It’s his problem if he finds it necessary to bully me. I didn’t bully him for all of his mistakes. After all, we all make mistakes and as long as we find these mistakes and correct them, everything is fine!

Everyone makes mistakes but in the end it’s everyone’s decision how to deal with them!

picture from pixabay.com

5 thoughts on “Everyone makes Mistakes

  1. Mistakes are the reason to learn from them.

    E.g. to make the same mistake again means that one has not learned from it.
    To learn from a mistake can mean, you introduce some kind of quality procedures, e.g. to use a check-list or a tool calculating a check-sum.

    Mistakes should not be the reason to blame another person.

    You can be proud of your 99.5 per cent error-free rate. And even should try to become better next time.

    Thanks for this article.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

