Reality of an International / Binational Relationship

heart-1406019_640

This week was my boyfriends and my 3 year anniversary! YAY! To celebrate this day, I want to share my experience in an international relationship. I was also in a relationship with a German guy before, hence, comparisons can be made.

First things first, I want to give you a little information on us: My boyfriend is Chinese and I am German. He lives in Germany since about 7 years and we both currently work on our master’s degree (in different subjects). We met in Germany at university (or rather on the way to university). We live together since 10 months and I wrote a seperate blogpost about tips on how to survive the “getting used to each other phase” when moving together!

When we had arguments because of cultural differences I looked for other people’s experiences online on how to handle this situation but I couldn’t find our certain problem. It seemed that people always wrote about the obvious problems in a binational relationship. That is why I called this post REALITY of an international relationship.

Well, it is easy to say that we have many cultural differences. Some don’t matter, and some I will never get used to. I’m not naïve. I know that we will always quarrel about certain topics just because we look at them in different perspectives.

This is not a happy-go-lucky post. There are serious matters to consider before committing to an international relationship:

1. planning the future

There are conversations you HAVE TO HAVE in an international relationship. At least if you reached a certain age where planning a family and buying a house is in the near future. Where do you want to live? How do you want to raise your kids? What is the role of a “good wife/husband” in your culture? What does your partner expect from you which is normal in his/her home country? etc. I think it is important to talk about these serious topics to check, if your future is even compatible. Don’t be naïve and think loving each other is enough. If your partner wants to move to the other side of the world or wishes that you behave differently because he wants a “good Chinese wife”, would you do it?

I don’t want to waste my time with a relationship that is not going to last. I don’t want to play around. That is an advantage of international relationships. You basically check on the most basic views of life (or at least you should be if you don’t want to be negatively surprised in the future). I think in a relationship with a German guy I would wait longer with these type of serious conversations. I write more about the guilty feelings in an international relationship here.

2. don’t be too lazy to communicate

It is so important to learn each other’s language! Not just for the sake of talking, but you also learn a lot about the culture. My boyfriend learned German in school and had languages courses in university in China. When we first met 3 years ago, his German wasn’t that good. He spoke a lot of English with me but I never answered in English. From the beginning I spoke German with him. Now, he mixes English and German how he wants and I try to incorporate more Chinese. I take Mandarin language courses at university since two semesters. (Remembering the characters and pronouncing the characters correctly is sooo difficult!)

All in all, we never had a huge issue with communication but it is still noticeable that we have different mother tongues. We often have misunderstandings because we simply don’t understand want the other person actually wants to say. Something I have to deal with is accepting that conversations take much longer. And that annoys me quite often. I have to be more patient! He is also often annoyed because he loves talking but then it just takes him a while to tell a story.

Here is a funny story: My boyfriend’s mum visited us last year and she just speaks Chinese. When she visited my parents (who just speak German), my mother-in-law said something in Chinese, my boyfriend told me in English and I translated it to my parents in German. So you can imagine how long a conversation takes! Also, you can get kind of lazy when talking and just say to yourself “Ah it will take so long for him to answer so I am just not going to ask.” But you need to talk! You need to make an effort! If you start to think this way, you will slowly stop to discuss things, which will lead to misunderstandings. Sarcasm, slang and abbreviations are difficult for the other person to understand. If you are a really sarcastic person, you need to patient until your partner is more save with the language.

All in all, I think you need to communicate more in an international relationship. On top of the normal misunderstandings between males and females, there are even more misunderstanding in an international relationship. Double the trouble! You basically have to explain why you are doing certain things and what they mean to you. And that is actually an advantage of an international relationship. I feel like you need to talk so much about everything that you just understand each other better on a personal level. I know why he does certain things which would irritate me if we wouldn’t have talked about it. COMMUNICATE MORE!

3. meeting each other’s friends

This point goes hand in hand with the previous point. He was going along when I met my German friends and I was going along when he met his friends. Once. He is not interested what me and my friends talk about and he and his friends usually talk in Chinese, hence, I feel left out. We never meet together with each other’s friends since then. I needed to figure out if that is important to me because if it is, then the relationship would not last. I don’t want to force him to do something. But it is not important to me to hang out with each other’s friends. Friends come and go, but the love of your life will (hopefully) always stay.

4. general more difficult everyday life

There a differences between couples even in relationships from the same culture. Your partner has other hobbies or doesn’t like the movies you’re watching. You basically have different interests and preferences. In an international relationship there are even more differences. We oftentimes cook separate meal because we like different things, which leads to eating meals alone. We just have a small kitchen, so just one person can cook at a time. We seldom watch TV together, so no cuddling on the couch in front of the TV in the evening. Sometimes he takes his laptop and watches a Chinese show with headphones on the couch while I watch German TV. That is our compromise. General different opinions about politics are also sometimes a point we quarrel about. (We better don’t talk about politics or Taiwan/Tibet/Hong Kong). Even in relationships from the same culture, a different political believe is normal. Looking at my parents or my brother and his girlfriend (who are all German), I realized that my relationship will never be “normal” like theirs. Is that ok for me? Yes, there are other benefits in my relationship that my family or friends in same culture relationships will never experience.

COMPROMISES are sooo important. At first I was really lazy when it came to compromises and just wanted things to go my way. But soon I realized that a relationship can’t work that way. If you thing the compromises you had to do with your partner from your culture was already too much, you may consider if an international relationship is what you want.

5. be sure what you want

Everything I already said sounds like an international relationship is more work and you have to pass on some things that seem normal to you. Why am I still in a binational relationship (except for love and the person itself)? I made up my mind. I asked myself if I would miss an “easier” life with a German guy and the answer is no.

I wouldn’t want an “easier” life.

I love my life with my Chinese boyfriend. Usually you have different opinions with your partner anyways, even if you are from the same culture. But I love my different everyday life. I watch TV shows I would have never watched with a German boyfriend. I eat food I would have never eaten (real Chinese food and not the food in Chinese restaurants!). I have conversations about topics I would never have. Till this day, my boyfriend surprises me with something that I just didn’t know of his culture. Its exciting! Next year we fly to China to visit his family and I am already really excited! Hopefully my Mandarin is better until then!

Like I said before, I am not naïve. I know that there are more difficulties ahead of us. The biggest potential “crisis” is probably raising a child. The Chinese way of raising a child is sooo different than the German way. My boyfriend basically already decided the future careers of our unborn children. I just hope they are healthy and happy.

So that was my take on binational relationships for now. I feel like I have so much more to say! These are just some everyday problems and big questions that nobody really seems to talk about. Hopefully it helped you!

Have you ever been in an international relationship? From which countries are you? Do you have the same problems as us?

57 thoughts on “Reality of an International / Binational Relationship

  1. Oh thank you so much for this post!

    My boyfriend is from Jamaica and most problems we have right now is him adjusting to Germany. He has been here for almost 3 years now but his German is not that great…Unfortunately, I didn’t start talking to him in German right away so even for me it is hard to switch to German now…cuz it just sounds weird. But eventually we really need to change this.

    But I totally agree with you when it comes to communication. It’s really hard to figure out what is cultural difference, where do we disagree and how do we find a solution – especially the different roles of women and men. I still have not quite figured it out yet…but I guess it just needs time.

    Thanks again for this post 🙂

    Süße Grüße 🙂
    Tina

    Liked by 1 person

    • My boyfriend is in Germany for about 7 years and I would say that he is well adjusted but not really integrated yet. 99% of his friends are chinese, he just watches chinese news, he eats rice with every meal… I can totally understand that he looks for something familiar that feels like home.
      Have you been to Jamaica with your boyfriend before? I am sure that it will be a weird experience seeing how your partner acts in his home country where he is “the boss” (communicates with locals, knows the people, knows where to go etc.) The roles will probably switch again!

      Like

      • Ya…I know what you mean. I haven’t been to Jamaica or his 2nd home South Africa…but it will definitely be interesting. I also want to get to know his family….so it’s a must do 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 5 Tips on Moving in with your Partner | life as julia

    • Ja stimmt! Und Geschenke sind ganz wichtig! Meine Schwiegermutter kauft mir immer so viele Geschenke, dass ich mich schon schuldig fühle und ihr auch mal paar Sachen kaufen sollte 😛
      Aber was ist denn Eisbein??

      Liked by 1 person

      • Eisbein is ne gekochte Schweinehaxe, typisch für Brauhäuser, in Berlin mit Erbspuree und Sauerkraut serviert. Aber ich las erst nach dem Kommentar, daß Du nicht so auf Fleisch stehst. Mit nem Chinesen wirst Du Dich höchstwahrscheinlich mit Dumplings/Jiaoze anfreunden müssen. Die gibt’s auch vegetarisch. Wo wir beim Essen sind: Hochwertige solinger Küchengeräte für die Schwiegermutter?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Achso! Ne kein Problem, dann esse ich eben das Erbspuree und Sauerkraut 😉 Als meine Schwiegermutter da war hat sie auch immer Jiaoze gemacht. Echt lecker! Sollte ich mal wieder kochen…
        Haha noch nicht einmal ICH habe anständige Küchengeräte! Solange mein Freund und ich Studenten sind muss sich die Schwiegermutter mit kleinen Geschenken zufrieden geben 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Von seiner Seite wirst Du lebenslang Traumfrau bleiben, wenn Du ihm immer die deutsche Haxe überläßt. Aber mal ernsthaft: Bei uns hat meine Mutter unter der Woche mit deutschem Hausfrauen-Pflichbewußtsein gekocht und wenn mein Vater (zweisprachig aufgewachsen, halb Hamburger, halb Shanghaier) dann am Wochenende zur Entspannung was zauberte, waren wir Kinder immer total begeistert. Erst jetzt so mit Ende dreißig fällt mir auf, daß sie da wohl ordentlich drunter gelitten hat. Auch unter der hanseatisch-chinesischen Schweigsamkeit, als diskussionsfreudige deutsche so alleine gegen drei Jungs im Haus.
        Das mit Laptop und Kopfhörer kenn ich auch, jetzt mit thailändischer Frau. Das genieße ich aber. Erst hatte ich schlechtes Gewissen, weil für meine deutsche Mutter halt private Mediennutzung im Familienleben total grauenhaft war. Aber deutscher Junge und asiatisches Mädchen kommen da prima klar. Wer was lustiges findet, schickt dem anderen links.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Also das Koch-Problem haben wir schon gelöst. Er wohnt seit ca. 10 Jahren nicht mehr Zuhause, deswegen ist er sehr selbstständig. Wenn er Fleisch essen will dann kocht er sich selbst die Haxe 😉 Abgesehen davon wechseln wir uns mit dem Kochen ab. Je nachdem was wir essen wollen und wer was besser kochen kann.
        Ja ich habe gelernt, das man einfach über alles reden sollte um Missverständnisse zu vermeiden. Sonst kann man eine glückliche Beziehung gleich vergessen. Unterdrückte Gefühle holen einen immer irgendwann wieder ein…
        Wir gucken auch Filme/Serien zusammen. Meistens chinesische Serien mit englischen Untertiteln. So vergesse ich wenigstens nicht mein Englisch!
        Wie haben sich deine Eltern und du und deine Frau denn kennengelernt? In Deutschland?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ja, wir haben uns alle in Deutschland an der Uni kennengelernt. Meine Großeltern, meine Eltern und meine Frau und ich. Meine Großeltern habe ich als Paar nicht erlebt. Meine Großmutter starb kurz nach meiner Geburt. Aber für die lebenden attestiere ich jetzt mal recht harmonische Beziehungen. Ein Rat für eventuell hoffentlich Kindererziehung: Bei derart organisierten Menschen wie ihr es seid, achtet in unserer Freien Gesellschaft darauf, daß Ihr die Ziele nicht vernachlässigt. Chinesen und Deutsche neigen dazu, alle Kraft in geebnete Wege zu investieren. Mir zum Beispiel wurde das als Kind schon langweilig und es wurde ein rechter Slacker aus mir. Bei Mathe habe ich bei Querschnittsrechnung aufgehört: vier einsen und zwei dreien auf dem Zeugnis ergeben einen schönen Einser-Schnitt, und das vollkommen ohne Arbeit und Mühe. So vertat ich die Schulzeit mit Nichtstun, und sonnte mich im Glanz der Bewunderung von Eltern, strebsamen Kindern und Faulenzern gleichermaßen. Und blieb dabei recht einsam und wurde zu einem faulen, fast psychopathisch-angstfreien Erwachsenen.
        Ich fand Deinen Artikel über den Schulischen Ehrgeiz sehr schön und bewundere, wie Du Dich reflektierend damit auseinandersetzt. Ich denke, meine Eltern waren da ähnlich, nur haben sie ihre Haltung nie hinterfragt. So wuchs ich in Wohlstand und Sicherheit auf und konnte deshalb die innere Getriebenheit der Eltern weder verstehen noch nachfühlen.
        Jetzt bin ich schon ganz glücklich mit mir und meiner Ehe. Thailänder sind aber noch mal ganz anders Chinesen. Aus tropischen Gefilden kommend sind sie sehr entspannt, als religiöse Buddhisten überwiegt die Überzeugung: Was Du in diesem Leben nicht schaffst, gelingt dann in einem der nächsten paar Millionen…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ja wir haben uns auch an der Uni kennengelernt. Er kam ursprünglich als Erasmus-Student hierher.
        Danke für den Tipp mit der Kindererziehung! Ich glaube unsere potentiellen Zukunftskinder werden keinen geebneten Weg haben. Mein Freund ist sehr ehrgeizig was Ausbildung angeht. Er will am liebsten Professor in Wirtschaft werden! Ich habe nach dem Master erstmal genug von der Uni… Jedenfalls erwartet er mindestens das Gleiche von Kindern. Sie sollen es noch besser machen als er. Dreier im Zeugnis würden nicht akzeptiert werden (obwohl ich auch eher ein Dreier-Zeugnis im Gymnasium hatte…). Da ich einen russischen Einschlag in der Familie habe, ist die musikalische Entwicklung der Kinder sehr wichtig. Ich habe leider in der Schule rebelliert und bin nicht mehr zum Klavierunterricht gegangen und bereue es bis jetzt. Ergo: Unsere Kinder werden auch in der Freizeit musikalisch und sportlich gefördert. Sie können sich dann aussuchen was sie mehr mögen. Ich finde, sie sollten lieber ein bisschen mehr zutun haben, als Langeweile zu erleben wie du. Unterforderung ist auch nicht die beste Lösung.
        Das ist jedenfalls die Theorie 🙂 Mal sehen wie wir das in Zukunft umsetzen werden!
        Hast du schon einen Artikel über dieses Thema geschrieben? Du hast echt viel zu sagen und das wäre bestimmt interessant für viele Leute!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ja, klingt gut. Mein Vater fand die Drei in Mathe auch immer kacke. Aber er hat zuviel gearbeitet, als das er Einfluß hätte nehmen können. Und ich glaube, kulturell gab es Schwierigkeiten: Bei Chinesen ist die Mutter dafür Zuständig, den Kindern Druck zu machen, und bei Deutschen der Vater. So konnte ich mich allem guten Einfluß entziehen. Außerdem ging mein Interesse früh in Richtung Geisteswissenschaften, ein Gebiet das dem Ingenieurs-Chinesen völlig fremd ist, wo bei er die mit Leichtigkeit erworbenen guten Noten sehr schätzte.
        Ich glaube, meine Langeweile war seitens der Eltern nicht beabsichtigt, resultierte aber aus der Fixiertheit auf Noten und Formale Bildung. Das Kind muß am Nachmittag Ruhe und Raum haben, damit es ordentlich Hausaufgaben macht. Nun, die kriegte ich in ner halben Stunden fertig. Dann war nix mehr. Oder später, den Nachmittag verkiffen, gegen 23 Uhr aus lauter Langeweile mit den Mathehausaufgaben anfangen. Und den Rest dann im Unterricht fertigmachen, während die Versager an der Tafel gequält werden. Dann kurz melden und mit richtigen Ergebnissen glänzen.
        Musikalisch wurde ich gefördert, aber meine Eltern können beide kein Instrument. Als schlaues Kind konnte ich vom Blatt lesen und hab deshalb nicht geübt. Erst als ich vor ein paar Jahren mal Arbeitslos war (Arbeitslosengeld bedeutet, Du brauchst ein Jahr lang gar nix machen) habe ich täglich mehrere Stunden Geige gespielt und auf einmal merkte ich: Hey, üben bringt ja echt was. Jetzt freu ich mich darauf, so in ein oder zwei Jahren meiner Tochter die Liebe zu Instrumenten vermitteln zu können.
        Von der Geisteswissenschaftlich-verkifften Jugend handelt mein ganzer Blog, zur Unterhaltung und Warnung geschrieben.
        Über Asiaten und meine Verfressenheit führe ich ab und an einen Reiseblog:
        confusionfoodblog.wordpress.com
        Da ist viel Thailand und bißchen Taiwan.
        Es würde mich freuen, wenn mein Geschreibsel wen angenehm unterhält.
        Beste Grüße

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ach so, zum Englisch üben solltest Du mal ab und zu in Berliner Kneipen trinken gehen. Deine Schriftsprache und Grammatik sind bewundernswert korrekt. Aber in der Satzstellung höre ich ausschließlich Deutsches Konferenz-Englisch. Weshalb ich hier auch instinktiv auf Deutsch kommentiere. Wenn Du Zeit hast, lies mal
        https://portergirl.com/
        Die ist hochgebildet, dabei witzig und unschlagbar britisch.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Danke! In meinem Alltag benutze ich Englisch eher nur im Studium für Hausarbeiten, Paper schreiben usw. Deswegen habe ich eher das wissenschaftliche Englisch drauf… Danke für den Tipp! Ich schau mal vorbei…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Das poetische am Englischen lernte ich richtig lieben alleinreisend in Irland. Die absolut begnadetsten Dummschwätzer im ganze Erdenkreis! Und singen können sie auch noch! Da würde sogar eine russische Seele heiter und wenn sie nicht aufpaßte würde ein Lächeln herausrutschen.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely article! Very well done and real. All you say is true, and can be expanded for another post.
    I had a Danish “friend” once and it worked well as you said because of communication. The problem then arose that I was expected to go to Denmark when they returned there. I decided I could not handle that, so we parted tearfully. Now many years later I find myself in a lasting binational relationship. This time I am committed (maybe because we are older or maybe because I am not “expected” to go live in their country) and all is well. I am learning the language (it’s been 3+ years) but our real language is love.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. So, da ich ja jetzt weiß, dass du Deutsche bist, kann ich ja auf Deutsch kommentieren 😉
    Ein sehr interessanter Artikel!! Als Liebesbloggerin interessiert mich sowas sehr, gerade weil ich diese Erfahrung noch nie gemacht habt. Allerdings kann ich dir bei “friends come and go” nicht ganz zustimmen. Es gibt sicher super oberflächliche Freundschaften, aber ich finde die meisten sollten nicht wegen des Partners beiseite geschoben werden.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ja stimmt! Ich meine das auch eher anders herum. Mein Freund und ich würden niemals unsere Freunde wegschieben, weil sie dem Partner nicht passen. Aber wenn es dir z.B. wichtig ist dass ihr alle zusammen gerne Zeit miteinander verbringt muss man sich entscheiden. Ist es ok für mich wenn Freunde und Partner sich nicht verstehen (buchstäblich) oder ist der Partner auf Dauer nichts für mich. Man muss sowieso schon viele Kompromisse machen und irgendwann ist einfach genug.
      Außerdem (jedenfalls in meinem Fall) schieben sich Freunde mit der Zeit eh weg. Jeder hat sein eigenes Leben. Sie arbeiten die ganze Woche, heiraten, ziehen weg (oder ich ziehe weg) und in paar Jahren beginnt die Familiengründung wahrscheinlich. Freundschaften ändern sich. Mein Partner ist aber jeden Tag an meiner Seite für den Rest meines Lebens.

      Like

  5. Pingback: July Recap | life as julia

  6. Pingback: Liebster Award! | life as julia

  7. Interesting ☺, I’m in a relationship with a man who’s different nationality, we talk a loooooot and there are much more similarities than differences, so maybe and I know that I’m lucky 😊, but anyway I think that when you love someone you can accept without a doubt the differences ☺.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Guilty Conscience in an International Relationship | life as julia

  9. After meeting in the US, being long distance for 2.5 years and then finally moving to the same country we’ve dealt with all of this. Nice to hear other people’s experiences. We’ve been together for almost 4 years now, he’s French and I’m both German and American, making it easier to be in the same country, we also recently got engaged. One of the hardest things is that I spoke minimum french, eat well cooked meat (when many in France like food bloody, ugh), and greatly dislike sardines, lol. We’ve luckily had may supporting us from both side of the pond, but you definitely have to plan these relationships mosr than others.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. u really try to learn chinese?…. respect and good luck! :-)…
    when I moved to China to stay / work there for two years I also tried… for the first 4 weeks every lunch break one of my colleague and me convinced our interpreter help us to learn chinese… everytime when we said something, she replied “this is something completely different”… so we gave up very soon….
    after two years I was able to order a beer or my belove fried rice without vegetable in a restaurant in our village there…. but to do this in an other village, was not possible…. *g*
    even my husband wasn´t able to teach me chinese, or better to say, it is my fault. But anyway and anyhow the relationship is working since 11years…. german (small talk) and english (important things)… it´s fine….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it is really difficult! My boyfriend never understands what I am trying to say… I don’t know how to continue learning Chinese once I am finished with uni. Ugh if you couldn’t really speak Chinese after 2 years in china how am I supposed to become fluent in Chinese here?

      Like

  11. lass Dich doch bloss nicht entmutigen!…
    we also made it part time in the lunch break… during the work we spoke english an had interpreter for the construction site…. (yeh, my children english was enough for that *g*)….
    and I was allready older than 30… in this age its more difficult t o learn a new language I was told…. so, keep doing that, u still have seven years 🙂
    and if I get it right: you have never been there?!… go!… asap!…. you need to see, for what u are doing that…. (maybe u realize, that mandarin is not like mandarin….so many dialects *frechgrins*)…
    but I also have to say: some of my colleagues did it! not perfect, but ok…. even our a trainee, he made it within 6 monthes…. (ok, he was crazy and made nothing else there… even forgot to see the country…. wrong priorities, I would say).
    1 coll also made it incl. writing… thats crazy… but he is a doctor (bo shi)… quite smart man….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Next year we plan on going to china. The people in my boyfriend’s hometown speak another dialect than the “standard” Mandarin. Will be fun to somehow talk to them. I definitely want to do little things by myself (e.g. buy something, ask for directions) because I ain’t gonna learn anything if my boyfriend translates everything. But we definitely need to speak more Mandarin at home too. Or at least try 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Eine deutsch-chinesische Partnerschaft in 6 Fragen – Shaoshi in Shanghai

  13. Mein Verlobter ist Koreaner, die Punkte die du ansprichst finde ich auch sehr wichtig. Wir führen eine Fernbeziehung (Deutschland-Koreaner) und da ist man manchmal (naturgemäß) ja etwas ausgeschlossen aus dem Leben des anderem. Aber wie du schon gesagt hast sind da Kommunikation und Kompromisse sehr wichtig.

    beste grüße
    jenny

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natürlich ist eine Fernbeziehung nochmal was anderes! Wir hatten das Glück, dass wir noch nie eine Fernbeziehung führen mussten und zusammen leben können. Das bringt aber auch so einige Probleme mit sich 😉

      Like

  14. What you said about meeting each other’s friends I can totally understand. I guess this is your motivation to study Chinese! It was for me, haha. Even though I often did not understand much, I still could sometimes grasp the atmosphere, which was enough. When I am back in Germany I will understand so much more! haha!
    So this means you only met your boyfriend’s friends once?^^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! Being able to talk to my boyfriends friends and family is my biggest motivation to study Chinese. I study Chinese for 1,5 years in a language course but now the course is over and I have to continue by myself… Chinese people seem to like to talk Chinese in a group instead of German, although they all study here and can probably speak more German than I can speak Chinese. No we meet more often now because I learnt to play Mahjong and it is really fun to play together! I am just silently playing Mahjong 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Hey Julia, ich habe gesehen, dass du einen unserer Beiträge geliked hast und bin prompt auf diesen tollen Blog gestoßen! Danke für diesen Artikel, ich bin in einer ähnlichen Situation wie du und habe endlich 1. einen Namen dafür und 2. viel mehr Verständnis. Ich finde es zudem sehr wichtig, sich gemeinsame Hobbies oder Interessen aufzubauen, damit man nicht nur nebeneinander lebt, sondern miteinander. Liebe Grüße, Siri von quergetippt

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Interesting insight! Thanks for liking my post about Hong Kong Street Art on sl4artglobal. I lived in Hong Kong before so I read with joy what you are writing about your relationship.
    Best to you both,
    Sabine

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Pingback: 5 Cultural Differences between China and Germany | life as julia

  18. Pingback: The Before | life as julia

Leave a Reply

